Painted in Red


When I was a kid,I loved the red-painted hands and legs which made me admire the color.Sajna was looking pretty in her parrot green knee-length frock and a cage in her right hand.A toy parrot was inside the cage and a tiny steel bowl too.

I was in 2nd std then and Sajna was my classmate who danced a folk number for our school youth festival.I was dark,lean and had glasses too.Red paints will look ugly on my hands and legs.Also the chilanka which we wear for dance was too big for me as i had the thinnest legs.

Those days my Mom was taking care of a family of 7 alone as my Dad was working in another state.Little could he sent us  from his earnings.But my Mom looked after us well even after having loads of liabilities with the family.

I watched Sajna’s dance as if I was dreaming.I wanted to dance too but didn’t know how to dance.I had heard from my relatives that my Mom was a brilliant dancer during her school and college days.As she had more than enough responsibilities on her shoulders,I am sure she must have not even thought about it for quite sometime.

Then one day I told my Mom that I want to join dance classes.To my surprise she didn’t even wait for her that month’s salary.I was put in a dance class where my Mom’s colleagues’ kids were learning dance.I joined with them for few days but typhoid took away my health in the following month and I stopped going for dance class.

After moving to Calicut,I was altogether a different kid.My marks went up,all in a sudden I became very smart and talkative,I become a different person in the new place.It was then I started learning Bharathanatyam seriously and sincerely.I realized that dance was in my blood.I quickly learned the steps that I went ahead of rest of folks in a short time.It’s a great feeling to be on the stage ;dancing with pleasure which makes you forget yourself.I did my first choreography when I was in 8th std for the CH Colony annual day for which two of my juniors danced.I saw my Mom’s face gleaming with happiness and pride when strangers walked up to her and talked about my choreography.

I wonder why did God give a sensitive skin.In my 10th std,during one of my performances make up caused a skin allergy.My face got burned and I became ugly.I refused to go school for couple of days.I started bothering about my looks.Though it healed slowly,measles made it again worse.That was the end of my dancing career.

Once I started working I wanted to join classes but either the weekend classes were far from my home that I will be losing the weekends or classes will conducted daily which I cannot attend.

Then after 3 years wait,when I moved to new apartment,I found that weekend dance classes are going on there.It’s a few blocks away.Though I felt little awkward dancing with kids less than 10 years,the urge inside me took away my ego.On the first day of the class,my legs were not even steady and by the end of the class I howled with pain.But I was happy that I came on track now.
The classes are during weekends for an hour.

If I had two extra hours daily I would have danced to compromise for what I missed years back. 🙂

This post has been written for Indiblogger’s Surf Excel Matic Get Smart Contest – If you had two extra hours in a day, how would you spend it? Click here to take part.
 
 


19 thoughts on “Painted in Red

  1. Hmmm…Thats good..Activities are major fun,esp if they take us mind atleast for a lil while,out of the tensions of the day…nice thinking my dear..so u learning classical?

  2. As dance is for you, poetry (telugu) and writing is for me .. had i got more two hours i would try to spend them on my blog..

    nicely written,, bhavia.. all the best for the contest..
    I would have joined your site ? is there any way out.

    http://www.readitt.in – the e magazine-

  3. Wow…it takes lot of courage to go for classes with kids..Hats off to you maam. You have written beautifully about dance journey. May all your dreams come true..Best of Luck for contest and for everything else in life!

  4. I always say that one shud try to do what they have wished for .. after all you only live once ..
    good you are dancing again .. and all the best for the contest 🙂

Leave a Reply

