Sunday Nights & Monday Blues


Monday Blues!!

It is like a melancholy breeze that pats us from Sunday morning, then turns into a merciless hurricane by the end of the day and strangles us on Monday morning making us feel sick in the stomach.

Everybody must have fallen into the trenches of Monday blues at least once in their life.

During school days, Sunday nights were more terrible than Monday mornings. From nowhere, a strange pain always patted my heart while making my school bag ready with the Monday’s timetable. This pain often gave me weird ideas for not going to the school the next day. Though prayers and offerings, for the infamous viral attacks, were made before sleeping ,those days God was busy listening to the prayers of others 😦

On Sunday nights , I used to give my best shot to love my school. (Though I loved my school, it was hard to do so on Sunday nights ;))

Transmission of my prayers to God for stomach ache and fever happened for every five minutes; also for heavy rains with thunder if it’s rainy season.

There is a strange fact that I have noticed about the consequences of my ‘sincere’ prayers. During the rainy season, it rained cats and dogs at the night.This gave me peaceful nights thinking that the next day Kerala Government will declare a holiday due to the heavy rains. But the next morning when I wake up cheerfully, I could see the Mother Nature happier than me being bright and sunny.Now I am left with no choice other than bothering God with the usual set of prayers and then slunk to the bathroom with towel and toothbrush.

Today when I look back to those days, I blush thinking about the situations when I used to complain about the ‘Monday-Special’ sickness. Even after knowing my pranks, my parents never made complaints. But they did complain when I self-proclaimed to be a matured woman. They told me how difficult it was to control the snickering laugh when I tried to put on my innocent face and squeezed my stomach with illusionary pain. Parents revealed how they avoided not laughing at me. I hurriedly searched for a hideout when my Mom declared that very often,after listening to my whining, she used to run to my Dad and then cachinnate till she had a stomach ache.

Even after years, I still get a pain in my heart on Sunday nights, but at least I stopped bothering God because now there is nobody to whom I can show my drama. 😛

So here comes, another series of Monday Blues… 🙂

8 thoughts on “Sunday Nights & Monday Blues

  1. “when I keep my school bag ready with the monday’s timetable”
    See. .The problem lies there. Which sane, normal character would pack monday’s bag as EARLY as sunday night?????? This is the exact cause of Monday blues getting pre-poned to “Sunday-night navy-blues” in ur case!
    Case Solved!

  2. Even I used to do the same circus every Monday morning. I used to hate my school days, I think,I still do. It was a Convent school and the punishments were very harsh for everything. College days were much better. But I only started to like Mondays when I started to work – all the companies I have worked so far are very good places. My current company is like a picnic place.

    Re blogging is a good way of popularizing your old posts. Well written.

    You can show the drama to your manager.

Leave a Reply

