Su|Do|Ku


The national daily,The Hindu stays really close to my heart that I rarely miss my two hours of reading the newspaper.It is a routine in the morning to cuddle on the couch,going through the headlines and then solving the Sudoku sipping my morning quota of milk.This morning when I solved a hard level Sudoku puzzle in 15-16 minutes,I realized that I have kept a close association with Sudoku for past 8 years.

Though I don’t remember the date,the Hindu introduced Sudoku puzzles in 2004 during my first semester vacation.I remember reading the rules for the puzzle and then wondering how to solve it. I was hearing about Sudoku for the first time then.It took a day’s hard work for me to complete the level 1 puzzle that day.

From then on,like The Hindu,even Sudoku got attached to my personal life.When I look back,I see my efforts in formulating new methods in solving the puzzle.Only today I noticed that I even have an algorithm of my own for solving it;though I never realized it until this morning.

Solving Sudoku is fun and I feel it has helped me think faster when it comes to placing the numbers in the cells.Once you get used with the puzzle,then your intuitions will help you greatly in guessing the positions of the numbers.

So for the folks who still consider Sudoku as a boring and a ‘waste-of-time’ activity,I would say it is not boring,it is not a mental torture and of course not a waste of time too.Solving the puzzles do make pleasant changes in your life;at times taking the newspaper during commuting or staying late at night to solve it or making you a couch potato on a lazy weekend evening.

And for all the Sudoku lovers,High Five!!

PS: For enthusiastic souls to learn more tricks - http://www.angusj.com/sudoku/hints.php 

23 thoughts on “Su|Do|Ku

  1. Even I am addicted to Sudoku and yes my husband still can’t understand why I like it so much.

    Glad to have found you at Indiblogger. Your newest follower ad a regular visitor now.
    cheers,
    kajal

  2. ahhhhh the bane of my life .. I have never been able ot finish one and my paper has a lot of criss crosses, deleting adding :) it is a mess to look at ..

    although crosswords i love words and all :) give us some hints on how to solve sudoko

    • Start solving the easier ones of difficulty level 1, and then practice,practice and practice..
      The url which I have shared in the post can help you out once you get comfortable solving difficulty level -2 puzzles :)

  3. I am a huge fan of Sudoku and my morning routine used to be like yours, but substitute the mug of milk with chai. :) I love the more difficult ones that strain your brain cells. I may not be as fast as you, but I do get there and then, it feels so good. And yes, it does help keep yourself sharp. :)

    • he he he :)
      Thank you..
      Lets do barter system..Teach me crossword tricks and I will teach you S tricks..Otherwise I wonder how much your fees will be :P

  4. Wow, you solved a 5-star Sudoku puzzle in 15 minutes! That’s awesome. :) I love Sudoku but not so much as to solve it daily. When I was fascinated with it in the beginning, I wrote a C program to solve it. Now I am more interested in the mathematics behind it. Still grappling with the number of ways to fill a completely blank 9×9 grid conforming to rules of Sudoku.
    Why don’t you publish your algorithm to solve it? Please do. :)

    • A C program to solve it??That’s great :)
      Let me see how I can post the algorithm in an interesting way.If people read the typical computer science way of algorithm,they will faint :P :P
      Now that you have told about writing the algorithm,let me give it a serious thought :)

  5. Pingback: don’t know « exqusite little things

  6. Pingback: Homepage

  7. Pingback: Shopping

  8. Pingback: http://www.myebuzz.net/upcoming/News

  9. Pingback: dentist in

Leave a Reply

